Trudging through tragedy……

I had a pastor that used to say “Every one is either just coming out of a crisis, in a crisis, or about to enter into a crisis.”  I used to think to myself that was bold and blanketing statement. First, to think that we all must have some kind of crisis or tragedy in our life is a very grim take on life. What gives someone the authority to say I will must go through crisis? Can I not roll the dice and skip the crisis by way of choice and planning?  Secondly, you superimpose your reaction to perceived crisis on to me. In other words, I must call an event in my life a crisis because of how the world perceives it, ie. a broken arm, a broken car, a lost cat, a lost loved one. I know you rarely find someone willing to say “Boy it was a good thing I broke my arm when luckily the car broke down when I was looking for my dead grandma’s cat. I sure am glad grandma’s cat waited till after she died to run away.”  But even still, is it fair for another to tell me how I must react to something they can’t deal with? Not to mention, my wife and I made a keen observation: It seemed that the more “crisis” (drama) a family had, the higher up the food chain they climbed, in our church. It was like a popularity contest of devastations! And we were happy to be in the “out” crowd!! Even when “tragedy # 1” happened in our life, we maintained that we did not want the pseudo-sympathy, the attention, or the “drama”. That was December 2003……….enjoy the ride.

p.s. I still love that pastor to this day, but he forgot to mention; sometimes those crisis run back-to-back, non-stop.

One response to “Trudging through tragedy……

  1. I have to say I agree with this to every extent.

    I personally have problems with a feeling of belonging with getting involved. (kind of a redundant statement) But that is to say: I jump whole hearted into things. How else to you experience all there is to experience it. of course with that: “you take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have the facts of life”.

    The biggest problem with that is you tend to end up in the “in crowd”… or at least you become the subject of discussion by the “in crowd”.

    Throw that in with church and all of the sudden: because you want to do more than be an observer, you have to deal with politics.

    This has turned me off of more churches then I’d like to shake a stick at. unfortunately it’s put me in a place that I can’t find a group to fellowship with.

    Hooray Drama.

    Jeramiah

Leave a Reply

