Test # 2

Oh my…it appears I forgot to finish this entry! Forgive me all, it must have been all the radio active juice in my blood! So anyway this is how my second test went. Pretty much like the first, but it turns out that the first test is a control test and only the Tc 43 was administered and not the adenosine. So the second test they gave me a “pushed” IV of adenosine and made me walk very s…l…o…w…l…y on a tread mill to circulate it through my blood. And let me tell you….IT WAS HORRIBLE!! I felt like I had run 200 miles in like 30 seconds and I was just walking. It made my heart rate shoot up past 120 bpm, I started sweating, every muscle went weak and sore, and I felt like I was having a heart attack! It even gave me a bad taste in my mouth.  And I was only WALKING! The drug apparently simulates physical stress, and people react differently. Some report no change at all and others (like me) report that it “totally sucks!” The really weird thing is less than a minute after they turn of the IV push….its gone. You feel totally normal. It is so weird that something that makes you feel so nasty is gone in 60 seconds! To bad we cant get over the flu that easy.

Anyway, it was then back to the weird x-ray machine to take pictures of my heart and listen to the two nurses go on about the lives of their children and try to catch a few z’s. I finished up there, and ate at the hospital cafe. It was pretty good! They really had an amazing grilled salmon for a hospital.

So..the results. I am told that all the pictures and monitor read-outs were normal, which would indicate I am ok. However, because I had a reaction to the adenosine, they are required to say that the test was “inconclusive.” Therefore I have a regular stress/echo test on the 21st of this month. I will let you all know how that goes. For now though, my cardiologist attributes my “weird chest feelings” to a possible mild case of some weird chest cold that has been going around. It really stinks being so gun shy about my heart these days. But I continue to swim (about a 1200 yd continuous and then a 100 sprint, 25 on the 25’s.) Most of my symptoms have all but disappeared. Thanks for all your prayers!

Leave a Reply

