Whats in your file?

I was so excited a few weeks ago to get delivery of my new filing cabinet. Maybe some of you older folks already have offices and filing cabinets, and for those of you students you are lucky to have a desk in your room. For me it was the next phase of becoming a professional. My own filing cabinet! I can file things, all kinds of things. Articles I have read and kept, fliers from past events, volunteer packets, and any thing else I feel the necessity to keep. Basically I can file any thing that is important either from the past or for the future of this ministry. I even have a file for my best friends stuff, its labeled “Things Kevin will lose”. I know some folks that have three or four cabinets that contain their whole life. Records and receipts, hopes and dreams. Sometimes we even have files of some of the mistakes from our life. Bad tax years, termination letters, files for all the left-handed-smoke shifters and bacon stretchers we invested in.

As I sat staring at my empty cabinet, I was reminded of a movie I saw. “Bruce Almighty”, and the drawer of Bruce’s life. I wondered if God actually used filing cabinets, what mine would look like and how big the room would be for all our cabinets. I wondered if, without Jesus, how big my “bad things I have done” and “bad things I have said” folders might be. Then in the blink of an eye, I remember what Jesus said in Matthew 9:13 “But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice. For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” So that at least lets me know Jesus calls for those of us with full folders. I also am reminded that Jesus will clean out those folders when I choose to follow Him, and place my faith and trust in Him as Lord and Savior. It tells me these “folders” will be empty in Psalms 103:8-12 “The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love. He will not always accuse, nor will he harbor his anger forever; He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities. For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.”

Then I thought about folders I have for the bad things that others have done to me, like letters from disgruntled former leaders, and even the not so bad folders for others like the one for my best friend. I know I have to clean those out of my “God cabinet” too. It says in Matthew 6 “For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins. “
Well then, there I sat with my empty cabinet. Both in my office and in God’s. It seems like I need to get to work filling both. What are the things I would like to have filling my folders when I am before the throne of God? Here are just a few versus that might shed light on what might be in our folders and how we fill them:
“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. “Ephesians 2:10. “For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work. If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward. If it is burned up, he will suffer loss; he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames. 1 Corinthians 3:10-15. “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving.” Colossians 3:23-24.

So the question that begs an answer is, “Whats in your file”?

One response to “Whats in your file?

Leave a Reply

